4 Day Tour – Galway and Connemara

This is a combination where you’ll discover the two sides of Ireland: the wild side of Connemara and the Burren and the friendly city of Galway. This city, elected among the favourite destinations of Irish people and tourists preserved that gaelic charm so important to the Irish people.  Between strolling around the main street or along the river Corrib, visit the churches, cathedrals, the museum, experience the atmosphere of it’s many lively pubs… there will be enough to suit everyone tastes in this relaxed city. The Connemara area is much quieter. This is the largest bogland in Ireland that combines lakes, rivers, nearly treeless hills, spread out houses… The Burren is made of landscapes of stones, where the world famous cliffs of Moher are situated. You will be captivated by the mysterious and spectacular landscapes that surround you.

At your arrival, you will be welcome by your guide and driver. You will head to County Galway where you will spend most of the next four days.  Depending on the time of arrival, you will have a walking city tour of Galway. Check into the hotel. Dinner and night.

Leaving Galway, you will be driven to the small village of Cong. You will spend some time in this beautiful small village famous for having been the setting of the 1951 move “The Quiet Man”. Cong is famous as well for the ruins of the XII° century Augustinian abbey, its forest and Ashford castle. As we continue towards Connemara along the way you will enjoy the beautiful views of the areas many boglands, hills and lakes. Lunch en route. Your next stop will be at the majestic Kylemore Abbey. You will visit that XIX° century unexpected manor with its gothic church, its park and its Victorian gardens. After the Abbey, you will go back to Galway driving along the bay and the Atlantic Ocean. Arrival at your accommodation. Dinner and night.

Leaving Galway, you will go to the direction of the Burren driving along the coast and will pass villages like Kinvara, Dunguaire castle, the ruins of Cormcomroe Abbey… You will drive through the Burren National Park that we call a lunar landscape. You will then stop at the impressive Cliffs of Moher that spread on 8 kilometres and are a maximum of 215 metres high. Lunch en route. After lunch, you’ll pursue your journey in the Burren passing by villages of Liscannor, Lahinch, famous for surf and you will go back inland and see Kilfenora, important religious spot, Leamaneh castle, whose last owner, Red Mary, made mark on history, and the site of an ancient VII° monastery before going back to your accommodation.
Depending on your departure time, visits can be suggested. Transfer at the airport for departure.

Project Details

Date: 03:48 PM
Categories:

Circuit 4 Jours : La ville de Galway et le Connemara

Voilà une combinaison qui vous fera vivre deux facettes de l’Irlande : le côté sauvage du Connemara et la vie citadine et chaleureuse de Galway. Cette ville, élue parmi les destinations préférées des Irlandais et des touristes a su conserver ce caractère gaëlique si cher aux Irlandais. Entre flâner dans la rue principale piétonne, ou le long du fleuve Corrib, visiter les églises, cathédrales, le musée, tester l’atmosphère des nombreux pubs… Il y en a pour tous les goûts dans cette ville décontractée. Le Connemara, lui, est plus calme.  La plus grande concentration de tourbières en Irlande combine des lacs, des cours d’eau, des collines quasiment dénuées d’arbres, des maisons dispersées… Vous serez captivés par ces paysages mystérieux et grandioses.

A votre arrivée, vous serez accueillis par votre guide francophone et votre chauffeur. Vous vous dirigerez vers Galway et sa région où vous passerez la plupart de ces quatre jours. En fonction de l’heure d’arrivée, vous ferez une visite pédestre de la ville de Galway. Arrivée à l’hôtel. Dîner et nuit.
En quittant Galway, vous vous dirigerez vers le petit village de Cong. Vous passerez du temps dans ce joli petit village connu pour avoir été le décor du film « L’homme tranquille » tourné en 1951. Cong est aussi connu pour les ruines de l’abbaye Augustinienne du XII° siècle, sa forêt et le château d’Ashford. Continuation vers le Connemara, avec sur la route, des jolis panoramas de tourbières, des collines et des lacs. Déjeuner en cours de route. Votre prochain arrêt sera l’abbaye de Kylemore. Vous visiterez cette bâtisse du XIX° siècle inattendue dans cet endroit, avec son église gothique, son parc et ses jardins Victoriens. Après l’abbaye, vous repartirez vers Galway en longeant la baie et l’océan Atlantique. Arrivée à votre hébergement. Dîner et nuit.
En quittant Galway, vous partirez direction le Burren en longeant la côte et passerez par les villages de Kinvara, le château de Dunguaire, les ruine de l’abbaye de Corcomroe,… Vous longerez ensuite le Burren, parc national que l’on appelle paysage lunaire. Puis vous vous arrêterez au impressionnantes falaises de Moher qui s’étendent sur 8 kilomètres et culminent à 215 mètres de hauteur. Déjeuner en cours de route. Après le repas, vous poursuivrez votre route dans le Burren en passant par les villages de Liscannor, Lahinch, connu pour le surf puis vous rentrerez dans les terres, vous traverserez Kilfenora, haut lieu religieux, le château de Leamanagh, dont son ancienne occupante, Marie La Rouge a marqué l’histoire, puis le site d’un ancien monastère du VII° siècle avant de rentrer à votre hébergement. Arrivée à l’hébergement. Dîner et nuit. 
Selon votre heure de départ, des visites peuvent vous être proposées. Transfert à l’aéroport et départ.

Project Details

Date: 15:48
Categories: